Failed to Drop Classes Impact Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
gobears2009

New

Failed to Drop Classes Impact

Post by gobears2009 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:24 pm

Hey --

Here's my situation.

I was a transfer student. Split my academic career between a community college and a university.

My community college GPA since I graduated is immaculate. It's about a 3.9 in total. I took a few courses at community college in high school and didn't do as well so my total community college GPA is a little lower. I was immature in high school and didn't care about school. I graduated high school with a very low GPA. Just to give you a sense of the type of student I was in high school. But since high school, it's all high.

In my second semester of community college -- in 2007 -- I had enrolled in a summer session at a local university. Signed up for 4 classes. In April, a couple months before the classes had started, I dropped. Well, I thought I had dropped them. This is my problem. Turns out I didn't properly drop so I remained enrolled and received grades. 4 F's. Ouch.

I later transferred to Berkeley. My GPA from the grades that I took at Berkeley alone is a 3.9. So, here are the way my GPA stats roll out. If you calculate everything including a few of the courses that I botched while I was a student in high school and the 4 F's, my GPA (LSAC) is a 3.51. If you calculate everything except those 4 F's it's about a 3.78 (this includes some of those courses I took in high school). Then, if you calculate my LSAC GPA for courses AFTER high school and all ATTEMPTED coursework, it's a 3.9

My question for you guys is this: How do you think the admissions committee (specifically at Berkeley Law) is going to evaluate my GPA? Do you think my GPA is really going to hurt my chances at Boalt? Berkeley's where I want to go more than any other place. What do you guys think?

law4vus

Silver

Re: Failed to Drop Classes Impact