How to frame adversity?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
littlepookie

How to frame adversity?

Postby littlepookie » Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:32 pm

My stats are 3.825 from a T10 (known for no inflation) and 166. I have a strong PS and good LR's. I know that UT requests info about obstacles overcome. The truth is, I have dealt with quite a bit of adversity during the past seven years, but this was all after I graduated from college. And I am ashamed of it. I mean, I grew up poor, but I feel I could have chosen to get a good job had I really been focused. Instead I returned to my home state, became a single mom, then lived in a Southeast Asian country for a year, returned home, dealt with family deaths, became a single mom again, finally marrying my husband, who never graduated from high school and is a child of migrant workers, and who has overcome plenty of adversity in his own right. The bottom line, we have a low income and between us we have five kids. Is this good or bad? Can it be framed in a way that helps me gain admission?

littlepookie

Re: How to frame adversity?

Postby littlepookie » Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:17 pm

For anyone keeping track, I did submit a diversity statement to UT, and I got in.

Jaeger

Postby Jaeger » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:05 am

Yeah, just tell your story in your personal statement. Tell how those situations caused you to realize law school was right for you.

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:16 pm

littlepookie wrote:For anyone keeping track, I did submit a diversity statement to UT, and I got in.

Congratulations!

Liquox

Postby Liquox » Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:37 pm