What to do?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
bernaldiaz

What to do?

Postby bernaldiaz » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:45 pm

So...right now I'm studying at Oxbridge on an academic fellowship my university awards to a couple students for their junior year. The experience has been great and I'm playing on the varsity golf team which is an unbelievable opportunity. The issue is that the academics are way over my head. It isn't that I don't think I'm smart enough, I just feel like I was dropped into an environment which I was totally unprepared for. For those unfamiliar with how week to week education is at Cambridge, its almost entirely self study. You just meet for one hour every week where you discuss an essay you wrote but other than that its all just reading from this massive reading list they give you every week. I hate the system and I fear that if I stay here for the year I am literally going to fail. I've never felt so far over my head, and am afraid that I will ruin what I have worked so hard for during my first two years of university (3.98ish) GPA.

Anyways, what do you think will look better (or should I say not as bad) to law schools? Leaving now and missing a semester but not hurting my GPA or sticking through it, hurting my grades, but having the Cambridge experience as a testament to my academic talents.

Also, I just want to say I'm not basing this decision just off law school. I really think being here for the year would lead to a break down, if the first few weeks have been any indicator.

rinkrat19

Re: What to do?

Postby rinkrat19 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:54 pm

Doesn't everyone get a tutor?

AntipodeanPhil

Postby AntipodeanPhil » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:56 pm

Is the main problem that there is too much reading or that there is too much self-study? To succeed at a top law school you would be required to do a lot of both.