Am I in trouble?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JohnV

Am I in trouble?

Postby JohnV » Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:19 pm

This is going to serve as a means for me to gripe and ask some important questions, so bear with me.

First, I don't know how to get professor recommendations. I have 2 more semesters left and I'm finding it very difficult to find small classes at such a large university. I'm not very good at getting to know professors and doing so would basically be just to get recommendations. Most of the ones I've talked to tell me the class is too large to write me a decent recommendation and that I should try to talk to professors I've known in the past or from smaller classes, however, those don't exist for me.

I don't have a whole lot going on for my resume. I'm in one student organization and I've had one job during my college career. That's about it. How bad is this going to hurt me? I'm not trying to get into HYS, but I'd like to go to UT or somewhere in that area ranking-wise.

Also, does a double major matter? After doing a ton of switching back and forth between Gov and History, I only need 5 more courses to obtain a degree in Government. I'm probably going to do it anyways just as a way to boost my gpa a little bit more and I figure it can't really hurt.