Graduating UG in 3 years

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LawSchoolGuru

Graduating UG in 3 years

Postby LawSchoolGuru » Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:42 pm

How does the admissions committee view candidates who graduated a year early from UG?

Re: Graduating UG in 3 years

Postby 071816 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:52 pm

It matters not.

thelaststraw05

Postby thelaststraw05 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:01 pm

Most schools tend to like candidates who have some work experience. I graduated in 3 years, then I went and worked for 3 years. I think that both of those were assets to me. On the other hand, if you graduate in three years and go straight through I can't imagine it would help you, but I don't think it would hurt you either.

mrtoren

Postby mrtoren » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:07 pm

Why would it help? It doesn't matter whether you take three years or five.

MrPapagiorgio

Postby MrPapagiorgio » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:09 pm

Very subtle #humblebrag

thelaststraw05

Postby thelaststraw05 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:10 pm

mrtoren wrote:Why would it help? It doesn't matter whether you take three years or five.

Why could it help?

Well, it could show motivation and drive. I decided I wanted to work on the Obama campaign. I took extra classes and summer classes (raising my GPA in the process) while working a near full time job.

I don't think that it on it's own would help, but if you can use it to demonstrate an ability to kick your ass into gear it can. It really all depends on the story you tell.

thelaststraw05

Postby thelaststraw05 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:12 pm

MrPapagiorgio wrote:Very subtle #humblebrag

Yeah, because graduating from a highly mediocre undergrad in three years is what I'd choose to brag about.

ETA: Oh, if this dig isn't directed at me I withdraw the above hostility. If it is, feel free to let the hostility remain.
Last edited by thelaststraw05 on Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LawSchoolGuru

Postby LawSchoolGuru » Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:13 pm