How many here are old(er) and going in to law school?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
brobar

How many here are old(er) and going in to law school?

Postby brobar » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:14 pm

I would imagine the majority of you guys and gals trying to get in to law school are pretty young... (early to mid 20's maybe?). I'm curious though how many people here are trying to get in to law school and are in their late 30s or early 40s? When I graduated HS back in 94 I had big plans to go to law school but for various reasons had to drop out after my first year of college. I ended up joining the Air Force, getting out after 6 years and doing web development for the last decade or so. I'm currently putting my wife through pharmacy school (she has less than 2 years left)... then I am wanting to go back to school for myself when she is done. She did the pharmacy school thing a little later than many. She is one of the older girls in her class and will be graduating in 2013 at the age of 34. I'm kicking around the idea of finishing what I once started but the age thing is giving me some apprehension. I mean I would be starting back from scratch at 37ish... not finishing until I was 44ish. Are any of you in the same boat... starting a law career late(r) in life? Or do you know of somebody who is? What are your thoughts or experiences?

lulzalicious

Re: How many here are old(er) and going in to law school?

Postby lulzalicious » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:21 pm

Im 24 so not really the age group you are talking about, but I do know someone that was 48 and took the LSAT then did law school. He was a doctor in FL with his own practice, I think he wanted to do law because of the ridic malpractice issues doctors face.

Anyways, I think with your career background in computers it could be great for IP law or something along those lines where you need a computer bground that most law graduates don't have.