Does Graduating with Honors Help?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
GatsbyGatz

Does Graduating with Honors Help?

Postby GatsbyGatz » Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:18 am

I have a fairly simple question about how useful that little word "honors" is for applications.

I have the option to graduate from a UC UG with honors next spring, but to do so I would need to take on 14 additional units including graduate-level courses (meaning a hectic course load of 5 classes for the next two quarters where I'll be heavy in research). Is the benefit of being able to say that I graduated from "so-and-so UC" with honors worth an insane amount of work which may even result in receiving a B or two, thereby lowering my GPA? If I don't apply for the honors program, I can graduate by next spring with a minimal course load of "easy" classes and assure myself of graduating with a 3.9. Would a regular 3.9 be very much different from graduating with a 3.7-3.8 with honors?

Another factor is that I will be studying for the LSAT sometime next spring, so a free schedule would greatly help that effort. But I mostly just want to know if "graduating with honors" will give me any real advantage over "graduating with a 3.9"?

Thank you all for your perspectives!

Hawkeye Pierce

Re: Does Graduating with Honors Help?

Postby Hawkeye Pierce » Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:20 am

Not worth it. Take the higher GPA.

descartesb4thehorse

Postby descartesb4thehorse » Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:41 am

Hawkeye Pierce wrote:Not worth it. Take the higher GPA.

PDaddy

Postby PDaddy » Tue Sep 27, 2011 4:55 am