Resume Question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
coldshoulder

Resume Question

Postby coldshoulder » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:14 am

I graduated in 3 years and have some significant accomplishments from my teenage/high school years to put on my resume. Should I include these, or leave out everything from high school? How much should one remark on high school accomplishments?

Hawkeye Pierce

Re: Resume Question

Postby Hawkeye Pierce » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:20 am

Leave out everything from high school.

dani_burhop

Postby dani_burhop » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:30 am

It's rare when high school years yield reasonable CV accomplishments, though it does happen. What sort of activities are you talking about? Best, Dani

MumofCad

Postby MumofCad » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:57 am

High School accomplishments are usually irrelevant. What does significant mean? If you won a national writing award, I'd consider putting that I suppose, but Valedictorian or something is really irrelevant. We were all Valedictorians.

Tiago Splitter

Postby Tiago Splitter » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:06 pm

MumofCad wrote:High School accomplishments are usually irrelevant. What does significant mean? If you won a national writing award, I'd consider putting that I suppose, but Valedictorian or something is really irrelevant. We were all Valedictorians.

Hmmm...

Samara

Postby Samara » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:12 pm

Tiago Splitter wrote:
MumofCad wrote:High School accomplishments are usually irrelevant. What does significant mean? If you won a national writing award, I'd consider putting that I suppose, but Valedictorian or something is really irrelevant. We were all Valedictorians.

Hmmm...

Haha, yeah, I don't know about that last one. If I slacked off in college (as evidenced by my splitter status), what makes you think I didn't do the same thing in high school?

MumofCad

Postby MumofCad » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:21 pm

Samara wrote:
Tiago Splitter wrote:

Hmmm...