Non- Traditional applicant GPA question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
num1cop

Non- Traditional applicant GPA question

Postby num1cop » Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:13 pm

I am a 40yr old URM Non- Trad who is preparing to apply this cycle. I went to college in 1989 for two years and got a 1.9. I then left school for the military and when I got out, I worked as a retail manager for several years. It was a this time that I attempted to finish my degree and went to 2 separate schools; one in 96-97 and another one 99-00. I bombed both attempts due to working 70+ hr. weeks while trying to go to school. I became a police officer in 2000 and the schedule allowed me to finish my degree at yet another school in 2008 with a 3.78 GPA. I am subsequently 24 credits in to a Masters with a 3.9 GPA. I got my LSAC GPA and it is 2.44. My question is two fold: is there anyone with similar circumstances and what were your experiences with law school admissions, and is an addendum necessary to explain poor grades from over ten or more years ago.

Opie

Re: Non- Traditional applicant GPA question

Postby Opie » Sun Sep 18, 2011 9:29 pm

I have seen people on LSN with similar situations. If I could remember the name I would give it to you, but it's been a while. They did get in to law school, though not a top one and not with a lot of money. I don't believe they were URM though.

I would say though that an addendum is very necessary in your situation and will help you immensely. If you don't write one, you'll just look like a poorly qualified candidate because there will be no context to your numbers. If I were you (and my situation is way different than yours, so take this FWIW), I would write an addendum for diversity focusing on your URM and Non-Trad status, an addendum for the GPA explaining in detail the reasons you did so poorly in your early college career, and a PS that knocks their shoes off.