LOR from Colleague Rather than Supervisor? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
alleg2010

New

LOR from Colleague Rather than Supervisor?

Post by alleg2010 » Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:34 am

Curious to see if anyone might have some thoughts on this...

I know you would traditionally submit a letter from your boss, but I'm thinking of asking for a recommendation from a co-worker rather than my actual supervisor.

I've worked with her more closely than anyone else in my department, so I think she's probably the most qualified to speak on my writing abilities, work ethic, etc. Plus, having started with the organization as an intern, I still tend to think of my older colleagues as mentors even though I've since moved into an actual staff position.

I'm just not sure if this would be considered kosher now that we hold basically the same title.

mrtoren

Silver

Re: LOR from Colleague Rather than Supervisor?

Post by mrtoren » Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:07 pm

I wouldn't even consider doing that. Almost everyone is closer with their co-workers than their bosses and its for that very reason that you don't get a letter from them. Your boss may not know your work as intimately as your co-workers, but s/he will write a more objective letter.

shoeshine

Silver

Post by shoeshine » Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:09 pm

Academic LOR >>>>>>>>>>>>>> Business/Professional LOR

MrPapagiorgio

Gold

Post by MrPapagiorgio » Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:14 pm