LOR from my Boss? I work in a restaurant...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
darkatillam2

LOR from my Boss? I work in a restaurant...

Postby darkatillam2 » Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:56 pm

So I'm 4+ years out of school, and moved hours away from my UG school a while ago.

I tried e-mailing some old professors, got nothing.

I was self employed post college for 2 years, then starting working in restaurants.

I do have 1 professional LOR from a lawyer I used to work for. Other than that, nothing.

I need one more LOR badly, however, the only person I could think of is my current boss at the restaurant I work in. I know law schools want academic LORs or at LEAST LORs that talk about translatable skills from the current job I'm in, into law school. However, I don't see how restaurant work includes many transferable skills.

Question is: should I just get a LOR from my current boss even though it's from an industry law school admissions won't give a shit about?

bp shinners

Re: LOR from my Boss? I work in a restaurant...

Postby bp shinners » Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:52 pm

Only if you absolutely exhaust every other possibility. E-mailing a few old professors isn't even close to enough. You're hours away, not days. Make the trip, talk to some of the professors, e-mail more, do whatever it takes to find that academic LoR.

darkatillam2

Postby darkatillam2 » Wed Sep 07, 2011 6:12 pm

That's good advice, but I still don't see it happening.

I went to a large public. I was one face in over 200-300 students. I tried tracking down some of my favorite professors whom I took with fewer than 40 students and most, if not all, have moved to another schools across the country.

Again, I've been out of school for 4+ years. I'm really not sure an academic LOR is possible.

But, I do understand what you are saying. Everything else > my boss at the restaurant

mrtoren

Postby mrtoren » Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:05 pm