LOR Help!!

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mtyler19

LOR Help!!

Postby mtyler19 » Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:21 pm

So sorry if this information is already somewhere else but I'm a newbie and not sure about my situation. I asked one of my professors for a LOR, also happens to be assistant dean of department my major is in. I sent them a reminder e-mail as they requested, and included that I would need their address so I could forward them an addressed envelope and the LSAC form that must accompany their letter. The reply I received a week later was basically "here's the letter feel free to print or forward, let me know if you find errors as I have a heavy teaching load..." with her recommendation attached. Now that I've seen it what should I do??? Could I still sign the waiver?? Or should I just try to go to her office and leave a copy of it in an envelope for her to sign the seal? Can I even use it at all since I've read it?? or just forget about it and not use it?? (it sounded amazing btw). I just don't want to get in trouble for it now or later. Thanks so much!!!

Opie

Re: LOR Help!!

Postby Opie » Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:58 pm

I would call LSAC and ask frankly. Anything you wouldn't want them to know is something you don't want to do, so you have nothing to lose.

acrossthelake

Postby acrossthelake » Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:13 pm

An explanation of the waiver to read LOR/Dean's Certs:

Under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, educational institutions are supposed to allow you to see recommendations that are part of your file after enrolling at the institution as a student. If you waive this right, you will waive your right to ask your institution to show you this letter.