Academic Probation Count for Disciplinary Action?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tryingtowin

Academic Probation Count for Disciplinary Action?

Postby tryingtowin » Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:29 am

does it count as a disciplinary action on law school apps, And if it does count, is it a serious issue to be nervous about? was on it my freshman year.. But I graduated in the 3s so does it matter? Dont know if I have to check the yes box for that disciplinary question on the applications. please inform
Last edited by tryingtowin on Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

CynicusRex

Re: Academic Probation Count for Disciplinary Action?

Postby CynicusRex » Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:02 pm

tryingtowin wrote:does it count as a disciplinary action on law school apps, And if it does count, is it a serious issue to be nervous about? was on it my freshman year.. But I graduated 3.6 so does it matter? Dont know if I have to check the yes box for that disciplinary question on the applications. please inform

No, it's not a disciplinary action. That refers only to some wrongdoing (or allegation of wrongdoing). Getting bad grades doesn't count, and it's not anything to be worried about.

I think 25% of my 1L class ended up on academic probation.

Postby 03121202698008 » Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:05 pm

Read the app, some count this in their description. If in doubt, call the admissions office and ask anonymously.

kings84_wr

Postby kings84_wr » Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:42 am

Most the time it includes academic probation specifically. I think I disclosed it on all the apps, if they look closely they'll see it on your transcript anyways.

Also it's not a big deal. It's pretty common actually.

CynicusRex

Postby CynicusRex » Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:08 am

Really? That's idiotic. It is not, by definition, a disciplinary issue. If law schools are choosing to redefine a word so it means something different than what it means in English, that's just dumb.