How will my GPA be viewed by prospective schools?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
PBateman1

How will my GPA be viewed by prospective schools?

Postby PBateman1 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:02 pm

When I initially came to college I didn't really take it seriously and ended up with a 2.8ish GPA for my freshman and sophomore years. After spending 5 years in the military, I came back to school and earned a 3.9+ GPA last year and I believe that at l should be able to keep up at least a 3.8 my senior year. Will the schools I apply to just average out all my grades or will it be recognized that I am a much more serious student than the one who got a 2.8 the first time around?

SilverE2

Re: How will my GPA be viewed by prospective schools?

Postby SilverE2 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:05 pm

LSAC will average your GPA but your upward trend will be noted.

No13baby

Postby No13baby » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:52 pm

To add to this - a GPA change that drastic (and positive!) would definitely be worth addressing in an addendum, or in your personal statement if you write about your military service.

kalvano

Postby kalvano » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:56 pm

No13baby wrote:To add to this - a GPA change that drastic (and positive!) would definitely be worth addressing in an addendum,

Not if all you can say is "I was stupid when I was younger."

birdlaw117

Postby birdlaw117 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:10 pm

I think writing an addendum with the message that your military service instilled greater discipline and a greater sense of direction and purpose in your life would be very effective. You certainly won't be looked at like an applicant with a 3.8 or 3.9, but you won't be looked at like a student with a 3.1 either.

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:50 pm

kalvano wrote:
No13baby wrote:To add to this - a GPA change that drastic (and positive!) would definitely be worth addressing in an addendum,