Better Undergrad Univ

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Duckfanvet

Better Undergrad Univ

Postby Duckfanvet » Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:18 am

First time poster wanting some advice on an undergrad school. I am a ex vet currently at the tail end of my second year of community college with a 4.0 GPA. My question is I must choose between going to Univ Of Oregon(I'm from Eugene) or to transfer to another school such as UCBerkeley. I do not have a great deal of money so it would be breaking my bank to be doing undergrad work out of state. I am willing to do this if getting a degree from a better undergrad school will help my chances with a top14. Will going to the Univ of Oregon with a strong GPA and LSAT scores be enough or should I consider UCBerkeley. Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Dany

Re: Better Undergrad Univ

Postby Dany » Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:24 am

Your LSAT and GPA are the most important things. Going to UCB over Oregon will not affect your admissions chances, and you definitely do not want the extra debt from Berkeley. Congrats on the 4.0 - keep it up at Oregon, pair it with a great LSAT, and you will have a shot at any school in the country.

I went to a totally non-prestigious UG and got plenty of great T14 acceptances.

glitched

Postby glitched » Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:25 am

i say go to berkeley only because it is fckin awesome 8)

Bildungsroman

Postby Bildungsroman » Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:25 am

Berkeley out of state is a ripoff. Go to UOregon and enjoy your affordable education.

Samara

Postby Samara » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:37 am

I was in a similar situation back in the day and I chose my state's equivalent of UOregon. 2005 me wondered if it was a mistake, but 2011 me is very glad I made that choice. I can't imagine applying to law school with a lot of UG debt. If I had debt, it would make me think long and hard about paying sticker, even for a T14.

KevinP

Postby KevinP » Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:59 am