Breadth or Depth?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
albatross92

Breadth or Depth?

Postby albatross92 » Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:06 pm

Hello everyone,
I'm a rising sophomore, and a double major in history and political science. I'm also minoring in both art history and philosophy, and am in the Honors Program. My GPA is a 4.0. Although there is still a little way to go before LSATs factor into my life, I would prefer to go to either Harvard, Columbia, NYU, Penn, or Georgetown Law Schools. I understand that the main factors to being admitted in these institutions are GPA and LSAT. But, I have a question that is just getting on my nerve during the past few weeks. I've been thinking about it constantly, and I so I seek your opinion.

This fall, I had planned to take a mid-level (200s) art history course to begin my minor; however, a faculty advisor suggested that I take something more "substantive," such as economics. So, I registered for a microeconomics course for this fall, with the intent to take a macro course in the spring, and other economics courses in the future; however, the economics faculty at my school is known for being notoriously difficult, and I fear for my GPA.

The final factor is that if I choose to abandon this economics kick - I may be able to triple major in philosophy without my GPA being damaged (I'm not entirely sure of it, but more confident than a few free electives in economics).

So, my question is - when evaluating undergraduate transcripts, do the T-14 place more weight on a schedule that exudes breadth (taking history, poll sci, philosophy, art history, and economics), or one that epitomizes depth (my current setup)?

Many thanks for any insight you all could provide.

dissonance1848

Re: Breadth or Depth?

Postby dissonance1848 » Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:17 pm

All they care about is GPA. Keep the 4.0, and you are good to go.

shoeshine

Postby shoeshine » Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:21 pm