viable addendum for poor standardized test ability?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
beta

viable addendum for poor standardized test ability?

Postby beta » Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:31 pm

Last edited by beta on Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

am060459

Re: viable addendum for poor standardized test ability?

Postby am060459 » Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:36 pm

beta wrote:I am applying to a few schools in T14 and a few others. I wanted to write an addendum stating that I am poor standardized test taker with my UGPA and SAT as proof. Thoughts?? Is my SAT low enough and my GPA high enough to make that argument? I'm not taking the LSAT again, and I studied my ass off for it before taking it both times. Advice anyone?

SAT: 1190 UGPA 3.96
LSAT: 154 (panic attack, shoulda canceled),163

poor standardized test taker? how will you survive in law school?

i think you should just make an addendum addressing your second score being a better reflection of your ability. do not mention the SAT and UGPA relationship. it sounds like your making an excuse.

cinephile

Postby cinephile » Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:38 pm

Well, what's the percentile rank for 1190 versus 163? Something similar?

Even with the addendum, I wouldn't expect anything in the T14 barring some kind of extraordinary soft. What other schools are you looking at?

You said the low score the first time was caused by a panic attack. Maybe some kind of stress management, relaxation exercises, etc. would be helpful if you were to take the LSAT again.

TommyK

Postby TommyK » Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:41 pm

Hmm, it's not like you're scoring in the 30th percentile for SAT & LSAT and the 99th percentile for uGPA.

You're scoring close to the 80th and 90th percentiles respectively for the tests. Granted you're stronger on your gpa than your test scores, but I don't see a big enough disparity here.

beta

Postby beta » Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:55 pm