Not sure about law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
doake

New

Not sure about law

Post by doake » Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:25 am

I'm 19, born and living in canada, and im current studying mechanical engineering. I'm a year into my program, doing very well with a 3.9 gpa and on the deans list. But im still not sure im happy with engineering.

I always had good grades in high school, with a 96 average when I graduated, the second highest in my school. Its a medium sized of school of 850 students, and its the highest rated school in my province academically. I recieved scholarships for university, and I completed some advanced placement courses in high school that gave me a bit of a head start.

I'm enjoying the program so far, but im having doubts its what i want to do for a career. I was always great at math and science, but i was also great at english, psychology, and history. i really miss putting the pen to paper and writing an essay, forming an arguement, and doing reasearch. Ive always had a great interest in the law, i regularly read books on political issues and landmark court cases, and I really feel like ive shut that intellectual side out of my life. Im not sure id want to be a lawyer either, but I want it to be an option. I dont quit what ive started, so ill finish my engineering degree, but ive heard thats a good undergrad to persue law anyway.

i guess im just looking for some advice. Anyone who's been down this road before, even engineers who went into law. also, some advice on how to prepare myself for law school application, like what things I should have for my resume ( i already have extensive extra curricular and volunteering) and the types of tests i would have to take for american schools (SAT, LSAT etc) thanks for any advice!

franklyscarlet

Gold

Re: Not sure about law

Post by franklyscarlet » Fri Aug 12, 2011 11:32 am

Keep your gpa high. Kill the LSAT. profit.