Resume question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
HellOnHeels

Resume question

Postby HellOnHeels » Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:30 pm

Last edited by HellOnHeels on Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

acrossthelake

Re: Resume question

Postby acrossthelake » Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:39 pm

stephinmd wrote:I currently have a resume that I keep updated. However, I have been out of undergrad since 2004, so my resume consists of jobs held, schools attended, degrees earned, that sort of thing.

My question is, on the resume I submit for applications, should I put back in all the awards and extra things I did as an undergrad? Luckily, I still have a copy of my resume from when I graduated, so I don't have to remember all those things, but on top of current career stuff, it might get lengthy.

Don't go over 2 pages, and don't go over 1 page for Yale, and that's fine. You obviously want to emphasize what you've done more recently, but you can tuck awards and undergrad stuff under the heading for your college. I'd put in stuff you had leadership positions for. If it gets unwieldy, leave out stuff you were just a peripheral member of unless it was an affinity group and you're applying for diversity scholarships.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:40 pm

Yep. Include them under 'Education' with subheads of 'Honors & Awards' and 'Extracurriculars' (for example). GPA is really what counts, but they do want to see sports, clubs, scholarships, honor societies, offices held, etc.
(And don't forget Dean's List like I did. D'oh.)

thederangedwang

Postby thederangedwang » Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:45 pm

acrossthelake wrote:
stephinmd wrote:I currently have a resume that I keep updated. However, I have been out of undergrad since 2004, so my resume consists of jobs held, schools attended, degrees earned, that sort of thing.