Should I go to law school?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
stevenash1313

Should I go to law school?

Postby stevenash1313 » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:39 pm

Im a recent graduate of a state school this past spring. I graduated with just barely above a 3.0(LSAC GPA). I took the LSAT in June and got a 165. I am working at a law firm as a paralegal this year and really enjoy it. I am also a black male.

I think I have a good shot at getting into some good schools but the high debt and job prospects make me concerned about this 3 year highly risky investment.

Suggestions??

lawgod

Re: Should I go to law school?

Postby lawgod » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:40 pm

What's the next best option?

Br3v

Postby Br3v » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:42 pm

Do you want to be a lawyer?

stevenash1313

Postby stevenash1313 » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:46 pm

Yeah I do want to be a lawyer. I have alway considered it and now working as a paralegal I see atleast one type of law(insurance-civil litigation) and think I would enjoy it. I would like a decent shot at big law though. As for other options, keep working as a paralegal for now i guess. I would eventually like to own a mens clothing store lol.

scammedhard

Postby scammedhard » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:50 pm

Since you are a URM, you can probably get into a decent school with money, despite your lower numbers. However, since you also have a job that you enjoy, I would advise you to wait. The economy is awful, and the legal economy is even worse; there is too much risk and uncertainty right now about job prospects for future and recent grads, even from the best law schools. So, if you can, just wait on the sidelines for a few more years until the economy heals and legal hiring picks up. In the meantime, you can always work to improve your LSAT.

Hawkeye Pierce

Postby Hawkeye Pierce » Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:54 pm