Study Abroad Last Semester of Undergrad

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
airbear1012

Study Abroad Last Semester of Undergrad

Postby airbear1012 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:48 pm

I'm thinking about studying abroad for my last semester of undergrad. I plan to have my applications in by the beginning of November, so it shouldn't affect that. I was just wondering if anyone else had done this, and if people think it's a good idea. Also, should I let the schools that I am applying to know that I won't be in the country? Thanks for the help.

ihhwap1

Postby ihhwap1 » Fri Aug 05, 2011 11:08 am

Last edited by ihhwap1 on Mon Aug 08, 2011 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MumofCad

Re: Study Abroad Last Semester of Undergrad

Postby MumofCad » Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:15 pm

I studied abroad my last year of college and managed to apply/find a job on a political campaign. Its not like you won't have email access. I don't see why this would be an issue unless you are totally uncertain about the school you want to attend and think ASWs would help.

Just add a note to your applications, letting them know you plan to be abroad beginning in January, will have email access and can arrange phone interviews where necessary if notified via email. I think all of your decisions will be emailed or show up in status checkers.

Xifeng

Postby Xifeng » Sat Aug 06, 2011 3:51 pm

They let you put a range for various addresses, and just shoot them an email telling them you'll be abroad/where you're going. You could also use this email to continue showing interest in the school.