Missed transcript deadline

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
orbitz1200

Missed transcript deadline

Postby orbitz1200 » Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:10 pm

So I just found out that I have what may be a major problem. I was admitted to my law school (U Washington), sent my letter of intent to register, paid the seat fee, and signed up with the school as a new student (even have the student ID card). I also requested my official transcript be sent from my undergrad school (from which I graduated five years ago). The registrar confirmed my request and said that she would send the transcript within five business days, and that was about three weeks ago.

Just today, though, I discovered that, unbeknownst to me and due to rather crazy circumstances, the transcript could not be sent. Today (Sunday) was the deadline for sending the transcripts.

How screwed am I? Is it likely that the law school will rescind my acceptance because I missed the deadline? I explained the situation to them and will rectify it all tomorrow, but they aren't in the office today. No matter what, I miss the deadline.

I've already quit my job and moved across the country to attend, and it would be utterly devastating if they rescind my acceptance. Pretty freaked out right now...

YYZ

Re: Missed transcript deadline

Postby YYZ » Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:23 pm

I don't think you have anything to worry about. My school requires this as well, but I wasn't given a firm due date. They gave us a reminder to do this asap. According to the ABA, your law school must have your transcript (from undergrad degree granting institution) on file before they grant you a law degree. This info was the on the "admitted students" section of the school's website.

I bet they gave you the deadline of this summer so they don't have to hassel you about it later.

acrossthelake

Postby acrossthelake » Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:24 pm

They're not going to rescind your offer based on that, no.

shoeshine