Boosting Work Experience?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tmon

Boosting Work Experience?

Postby tmon » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:57 pm

Kind of a specific question for my situation. I graduated undergrad in 2010, am retaking the LSAT in October and hoping for a 170something. I've got a year of AmeriCorps work experience under my belt, which ended in June. Since that ended I've been applying to some jobs, but nothing's biting, and I've also been putting a lot of time in on LSAT prep. However, one of my real targets is NU, so I want to be able to say that I'll have 2 years of work experience by the time I enroll, so I have a good shot there. I also feel like just giving up and applying to Starbucks wont really look to great either. My options as I see them are:

-Apply for another year of Americorps, but doing something random like volunteer coordination, not law related

-Talk to my Americorps site and ask if they'd have me back for a year. I somewhat have a standing invite for this because they really liked me there. The benefits of this would be that I could just say that I worked there from '10-'12 and it'd look more like a solid 2 years. It's not law-relevant though, but is largely grantwriting, which is at least keeping my writing skills up to par. I could also probably wait until around October to do this, which would conveniently allow me to put my all into LSAT studying until going back to work.

-Keep applying the way I am and hope things work out. I've been applying to paralegal positions, but I don't really have an in anywhere nor do I have experience, so I'm not sure this will really work out well for me.