Do I have a good shot at any decent law schools? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
keithsweats

New

Do I have a good shot at any decent law schools?

Post by keithsweats » Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:26 pm

I took the LSAT in June and scored a 167. What kills me is that I studied for about 8 months intensely. Took a course, went through the bibles, took a TON of practice tests. I know some people come to TLS without having given their all to the LSAT, but I really think I did, and topping out at 167 is depressing. My practice average was a 169/170 (highest ever was just a 171), and I know most people drop a few points on the real thing.

My UGPA from an elite school rated just below HYP is about 4.1 (on the LSDAS scale), but I think a 167 basically shuts me out of the T-14 (probably T-20, as well).

My softs are anemic. A few undergrad internships, no extracurriculars, paralegal for a year out of undergrad and some volunteer tutoring with underprivileged kids (post-grad). I recently got a fellowship that will send me abroad, but it's non-Rhodes/Fullbright.

What halfway decent school would I have a good shot at as my profile stands right now? By halfway decent, I mean a school that would give me a reasonable shot at a career in New York or D.C...

Also, if I do retake, how do I get over the high 160s hump? What's the lowest score bump that would substantially increase my odds in the T-20?

Hawkeye Pierce

Silver

Re: Do I have a good shot at any decent law schools?

Post by Hawkeye Pierce » Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:28 pm

Of course you do... With that GPA you have a legitimate shot at some T-14 schools. Check through Lawschoolnumbers.com to see what your chances are at various schools. I do know, however, that with an ED you'd more-or-less be an autoadmit at schools like Michigan and UVA.

Glock

Bronze

Post by Glock » Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:36 pm

The obvious answer is retake and enjoy YH. Schools you have a decent chance at right now:

Stanford 50/50