Application Questions (Addendum & References)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
AquaGreenBean

Application Questions (Addendum & References)

Postby AquaGreenBean » Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:50 pm

I graduated from undergrad in Spring 2009. I was accepted and started a PT MSW program in Fall 2009. 1 month into the program I received a promotion at my place of employment and my mom was diagnosed with cancer. Due to the circumstances of not being able to take off work 24 hrs./week for an internship, and the time necessary to be a primary caretaker (on top of working full-time and being a single parent), I withdrew from grad school after only 2 months. I withdrew early enough that I was refunded part of my tuition. My grades in the 2 classes I was enrolled in are posted as "W."

Obviously, I will be submitting a transcript (and assume the W's won't impact my GPA, correct?) but should I also write an addendum? I don't want to give too much personal information, I also don't want it to come off as a pity me letter. Can I write something as simple as, "due to personal employment and family reasons I was unable to complete the MSW program."

2nd question - references. Even though I graudated in 2009, do I have to get references from professors? I did well in school (graduated with a 3.8 GPA), and before I graduated I did have 2 professors write me references to get into the MSW program, but I no longer have their contact information (or remember their names!). I have been employed at the same place for 11 years, can I just get references from my supervisors?

cinephile

Re: Application Questions (Addendum & References)

Postby cinephile » Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:05 pm

I would submit an addendum to explain the withdrawal from grad school.