Multiple Transcripts Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
GodlikeAchilles

New

Multiple Transcripts

Post by GodlikeAchilles » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Hi TLS,

I'm a student at the University of Chicago graduating in (hopefully) about a month at the end of the summer...

At the end of this academic year, I was one credit short of graduating (I'm graduating in 3 years instead of 4), so I decided to take a course at a state school back home and transfer it back for an elective. For whatever reason, I decided to take high-level math because I thought I might one day also pursue mathematics, and now I am in jeopardy of not passing the class and, as such, not graduating.

Here are my questions:

I'm enrolled as a Non-Degree Student at this state university -- if I do not pass the class or if I withdraw, because this technically isn't part of my undergraduate program, do I have to submit this as part of my LS applications? It will not affect my GPA at UChicago because it won't be transfer-eligible if I don't get a C or better. tl;dr: do I get a freebie?

Second question, if I do get a C, I can transfer the course back to UChicago and graduate. It will be added to my Chicago transcript as a "Pass" no matter what grade I get because transferred grades don't impact GPA at Chicago. If this happens, my GPA will remain the same (3.86). Will law schools wonder what the deal is with this "Pass" and request a transcript from the state school? If they do, and they see a C, am I in trouble? Seems like it wouldn't matter because it's not in my GPA, but who knows?

Thanks. If it matters, my top choices are Duke and Vanderbilt and I'm 166-168 on PTs.

JamMasterJ

Platinum

Re: Multiple Transcripts

Post by JamMasterJ » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:19 pm

GodlikeAchilles wrote:Hi TLS,

I'm a student at the University of Chicago graduating in (hopefully) about a month at the end of the summer...