Undergraduate Writing Classes Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Hoosier15

New

Undergraduate Writing Classes

Post by Hoosier15 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:09 am

I'm a soon-to-be college freshman and I'm seriously considering pursuing a law degree after college. Obviously I still have a lot of time before I need to make a decision, but seeing as it's a goal of mine I figure I better start preparing now. My question pertains to the writing aspect of law in general and law school admissions. From my understanding, legal writing is significantly different than the writing I've done in high school English classes (i.e. literary analysis, poetry, etc.). However, I don't know what type of writing classes I should take in college to prepare myself for law school. I'm generally very articulate and can convey an idea pretty well, but creative writing has never been my strong suit. It just seems to me that my ability to write a Haiku or do a character analysis of Grapes of Wrath doesn't pertain to my success as a lawyer. My question is, what type of writing classes should I consider taking in college to improve my writing ability for law school and law school admissions?

Hawkeye Pierce

Silver

Re: Undergraduate Writing Classes

Post by Hawkeye Pierce » Sun Jul 17, 2011 1:04 am

Disclaimer: I'm an 0L.

I don't think there's any specific writing course you need to or ought to take. I took exactly one English course during college (English composition -- required for university graduation requirements). That being said, I do believe that being a philosophy major did help my writing. It helped me write essays without all the fluff. I learned how to develop a logical argument and describe it succinctly. That does not mean, however, that I recommend you pursue the same major; you should pursue whatever you find most interesting.