Weird situation (Second bachelor's degree?)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
bigsprinta4

Weird situation (Second bachelor's degree?)

Postby bigsprinta4 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:56 pm

I graduated from high school in 2008 and went to UT Austin my freshman year. My first semester of classes, consisting of biology, calculus, chemistry and economics coupled with being away from my girlfriend of three years for the first time left me with a whopping 2.56 GPA. UT would only let me claim 12 hours from my high school coursework, which is low. All of these things led me to transferfor my sophomore year where I was able to claim 42 hours of credit at my new school. This, in addition to the cheaper tuition, was reason enough to transfer. Transferring allowed me to graduate in only three years total while maintaining a GPA of 3.5 at my new school (3.32 overall). I am now a 20 year old with a psychology degree. Yay.

I have determined that it would only take me 36 hours to earn a degree in Government from UT. Going back and doing this, while cultivating healthy relationships with professors for LORs and trying to find some internships could be good or bad. It could be helpful because the new grades would show up on my transcripts, proving to adcoms that I was/am capable of attaining good grades at UT and that I just had a bad experience. On the other hand, it could be bad because law schools/employers might think that I am delaying having to enter the "real world" by pursuing more undergraduate schooling, even if it is just one year. It could also be bad because I'd be getting two liberal arts degrees. I would only be 21 (or 22 at the oldest) upon re-graduating with the second degree and have a total of 4 years in school (plus maybe one semester), which seems about normal.