Transcript question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
merlin2009

Transcript question

Postby merlin2009 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:52 pm

Hey, here's my situation, and it's kind of giving me a huge headache

I took a class at my local community college 5 years ago, when I was a sophomore in high school. I thought I dropped the class before it was recorded, but I thought wrong. I just called it and it turns out I got a C. This would bring down my GPA by a LOT (from a 3.74 to a 3.68)

How should I handle this situation? Should I write an addendum to law schools? Try to retrospectively drop the class (the person at the community college said that was possible through a general petition)?

Any thoughts would be very helpful. I really just think it's unfair that courses taken so long ago, when I was still in high school, could affect my chances now.

Thanks

cinephile

Re: Transcript question

Postby cinephile » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:52 pm

Try to retroactively drop, go through the petition process, etc.

Do not write an addendum - this is just one class and it's a C, not an F.

merlin2009

Postby merlin2009 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:55 pm

cinephile wrote:Try to retroactively drop, go through the petition process, etc.

Do not write an addendum - this is just one class and it's a C, not an F.

Does that fact that this happened in high school matter at all? Admissions officers are able to see my GPA at the degree granting institution separately from this one grade right?

Also, what are your thoughts on not submitting the transcript at all? There was no SSN attached, and really no way for anyone to ever find this out...

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:58 pm

merlin2009 wrote:Does that fact that this happened in high school matter at all?
No.

merlin2009 wrote:Admissions officers are able to see my GPA at the degree granting institution separately from this one grade right?