Writing your own LOR

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
HarveyBirdman

Writing your own LOR

Postby HarveyBirdman » Sat Jul 09, 2011 12:09 pm

So I asked a professor to write me a LOR and he agreed and said I was a very good student blah blah blah but then he suggested I write it myself, he will look over it, and then agree to it. He claims he only does this for the very best students....I have no idea what is supposed to be in these things. I have a few from high school to reference but I think they lack the substance law schools will look for. I'm thinking of asking him for at least a few bullet points of what he'd like to be in the letter. Has anyone here had to do this?

law4vus

Re: Writing your own LOR

Postby law4vus » Sat Jul 09, 2011 12:55 pm

Don't write your own letter. If law schools somehow match the writer of your essays to the LOR writer, it could mean trouble for you. Maybe not C&F trouble, but I doubt they'd admit you.

Tell your professor that you'd rather he write it, and provide a resume and a few bullet points of things you'd like him to add. Also include some coursework for him to look at. If he doesn't want to write it himself, then find someone else.

ClarDarr

Postby ClarDarr » Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:00 pm

law4vus wrote:Don't write your own letter. If law schools somehow match the writer of your essays to the LOR writer, it could mean trouble for you. Maybe not C&F trouble, but I doubt they'd admit you.

Tell your professor that you'd rather he write it, and provide a resume and a few bullet points of things you'd like him to add. Also include some coursework for him to look at. If he doesn't want to write it himself, then find someone else.