combining CPA and JD

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wbsgn12

combining CPA and JD

Postby wbsgn12 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:56 pm

I'm a college student (going to be a senior this fall) and a political science/history double major. I am very entrepreneurial, and looking to make a career decision that will let me maximize salary and personal time. I grew up a huge Notre Dame fan, and went thru the last several years of college obsessed with getting into ND Law school and becoming a lawyer. I have wised up over the last few months, however. I think I would have a decent chance at getting into NDLS, but I would certainly come out laden with debt and most likely wouldn't be landing a BigLaw gig...And I am not going to be some JC Penny suit wearing ambulance chaser, or working at some shitty law firm defending companies in slip and fall suits for the rest of my life.

So i am thinking that getting a CPA is the way to go at this point. Ill probably take some prerequisite classes next year, and enroll in a MAcc program (I like the idea of UVA, from Pennsylvania). Afterwards, I would try and do Big4 accounting for 2-3 years.

What does everyone think about getting a JD at this point? Having a JD/CPA I would assume would open up some serious job prospects? Could I open up my own firm and fly solo? What are some of the opportunities with this type of resume? Can a lot of money be made as a consultant? general counsel? Give me any advice on what type of paths I can follow with a JD/CPA and the corresponding compensation. I appreciate everyone's input...

pkrtbx

Re: combining CPA and JD

Postby pkrtbx » Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:43 pm