Work Experience - Govt. Job v. Non-Profit Job

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
arjun

Work Experience - Govt. Job v. Non-Profit Job

Postby arjun » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:51 pm

I graduated with a degree in poli sci in May and am currently weighing my options for work. I have the option of going to Washington DC and working in the press/comms office of a member of congress within leadership or a national campaign committee. Alternatively, I can stay in California and work at a non-profit...an organization that opens and runs charter schools. Both jobs pay about the same, and I'll be applying to law school this fall, so either way I'll only be at this job for the next year.

Also, I have a 3.77/173. So far, my "story" is education related, as all of my past work/volunteer experience is education related.

Just wondering which one of these jobs would be best for my application as far as "work experience" goes.

splitmuch

Re: Work Experience - Govt. Job v. Non-Profit Job

Postby splitmuch » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:54 pm

arjun wrote:I graduated with a degree in poli sci in May and am currently weighing my options for work. I have the option of going to Washington DC and working in the press/comms office of a member of congress within leadership or a national campaign committee. Alternatively, I can stay in California and work at a non-profit...an organization that opens and runs charter schools. Both jobs pay about the same, and I'll be applying to law school this fall, so either way I'll only be at this job for the next year.

Also, I have a 3.77/173. So far, my "story" is education related, as all of my past work/volunteer experience is education related.

Just wondering which one of these jobs would be best for my application as far as "work experience" goes.

There is probably no tangible difference between these jobs except the exceedingly unlikely event that you get to know that member of congress and he or she writes a rec for you

JamMasterJ