Cal cc transfer, need some help!

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
instra:mental

Cal cc transfer, need some help!

Postby instra:mental » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:34 am

I have completed one year at a California CC, and wish to transfer to either BYU or UC Berkeley (or elsewhere?) after I serve a two-year religious mission. I have a 4.0 transferable GPA, so hopefully getting in to either one won't be a problem. BYU is dirt cheap, and is a little more focused on UG than Cal is (also, I think it would be neat to study with people I have so much in common with at BYU- other than maybe some political beliefs haha) so I guess what my main question is, if your numbers are great, does it really matter where you go for UG? And if it does matter, where would you reccomend I go out of the two ( open to other suggestions, keep in mind I'm a CA resident and am paying for college myself) Oh, one last caveat to Cal is that I'd have to attend another painful year of community college after my mission, whereas I could drop straight into BYU with only a year's worth of credits.

Thanks so much!

P.s I'm aiming for t14. On a side note, will my CC attendance hurt my chances at t14s?

P.p.s please no Mormon doctrine rants, it seems to ALWAYS come up while discussing BYU. thanks again!

Rock-N-Roll

Re: Cal cc transfer, need some help!

Postby Rock-N-Roll » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:48 am

Wait. I'm confused. Have you already taken the LSAT? If you are aiming for the t14 then why BYU?

Journeybound

Postby Journeybound » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:51 am

I'm a BYU undergrad. I went to a T2 for my first year, and I transferred to a T10. I didn't do well on the LSAT, but I finished at the very top of my 1L class.