Quick question about failing grade

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
anteater1

Quick question about failing grade

Postby anteater1 » Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:35 am

Hey Guys,

My question is this: I got an F in a class my freshman year of college (attempted to drop but it never went through so I didn't realize I was enrolled) but made up the same class for an A. I realize this is going to significantly damage my LSDAS gpa.

Will law schools consider my upward trend of gpa at all? Since then my UGPA has been a 3.7 but that F is killing me.

I'm really worried that one mistaken grade will take me out of the running for the schools i'm interested in.

-Thanks

p.s. I'm a transfer student and the F was at my junior college if that makes any difference.

Sandro

Re: Quick question about failing grade

Postby Sandro » Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:57 am

Your LSAC gpa is what it is. Nobody will care either way about one F.

anteater1

Postby anteater1 » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:02 am

Sandro wrote:Your LSAC gpa is what it is. Nobody will care either way about one F.

So i'm screwed huh? My lsdas drops an entire point because of one grade.

Sandro

Postby Sandro » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:08 am

anteater1 wrote:
Sandro wrote:Your LSAC gpa is what it is. Nobody will care either way about one F.

So i'm screwed huh? My lsdas drops an entire point because of one grade.

At the end of the day schools really only care about the # they report to USNWR.

defrutamadre

Postby defrutamadre » Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:21 am

All you can do now is write a succinct addendum and then hope for the best. schools will see an upward trend, and if it's the only F you have they will take the (hopefully well-written) addendum into account and view it as an outlier.