How difficult is the application process from overseas/Asia?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
StateSchoolSplitter

How difficult is the application process from overseas/Asia?

Postby StateSchoolSplitter » Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:13 am

I'm wondering if delays in receiving mail could hurt my chances because of not being able to act timely on offers. I'm a TESL instructor in Seoul-si, South Korea and I'm planning on applying to schools on Eastern U.S. seaboard and the mid-west. I've never actually dealt with mail from the States (ahhh, the internet) so I'm not sure about delays. Does anyone else have experience applying from abroad while being a U.S. citizen? Thanks!

Eugenie Danglars

Re: How difficult is the application process from overseas/Asia?

Postby Eugenie Danglars » Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:41 am

Hi! This is exactly what I did- I'm in the Peace Corps in China. I didn't really have any troubles because very little of the process is on paper. The only thing that I had difficulty with was receiving some admitted student binders (which was no problem). If a school mails notifications of admission instead of providing it online, I emailed to explain the situation, and they were all happy to provide a pdf of my admit/reject letter.

If you have any more specific questions, please feel free to PM, but in short, you shouldn't have any real problems as long as you have reliable internet. Good luck!

doublefocus4

Postby doublefocus4 » Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:41 am

To the best of my knowledge, schools will send you email notifications to accompany any offers by physical mail. I was in Shanghai, China during most of my application cycle and I don't think the distance was ever that big of an issue.

Army2Law

Postby Army2Law » Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:42 am