Law School 2012- 3.8 UGPA; 148 LSAT

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ladylaw06

Law School 2012- 3.8 UGPA; 148 LSAT

Postby ladylaw06 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:05 pm

Hi All!

I was hoping I could get some feedback as to the likelihood/possibility of me getting in to some law schools in Texas. I graduated from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff in May 2010 with a 3.86 cumulative GPA. My major was Political Science. I took the LSAT twice in 2009, once in October and once in December. I scored a 148 in October and a 144 in December. I'm taking/took a couple years off and am hoping to go to law school in Fall of 2012. I just completed a Kaplan Extreme Advanced course (I won't expound on how I feel about that class) and I just took the LSAT again this past Monday, June 06, 2011. So, I've taken the LSAT a total of 3 times. I REALLY REALLY REALLY want to move to Texas and go to law school there, preferably at one of these schools: SMU Dedman, Texas Southern University, The University of Texas School of Law, and University of Houston Law Center. So with all of that being said, can you guys and gals give me some feedback as to my chance of getting in?

kalvano

Re: Law School 2012- 3.8 UGPA; 148 LSAT

Postby kalvano » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:08 pm

The only one you have even a vague shot at, as it stands, is Texas Southern. Don't go there.

JoeFish

Postby JoeFish » Thu Jun 09, 2011 12:40 am

This is just based on lawschoolnumbers.com (LSN) which is the best resource for that stuff, and is just taken from the graphs of the '10-'11 cycle.

SMU admitted 3 people with 151 LSATs, but the next lowest are 159s. If you get up past 151, with a 3.8 you have a good shot at WL at least.

You'd be very very likely to be accepted at Texas Southern, but
kalvano wrote: Don't go there.
is the correct response.

At Texas Austin, a 166 would give you a good shot, and a 168 or 169 would probably be auto-admit, but that's a big gap to traverse.