How hard is it to become a public defender?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ctxmike

How hard is it to become a public defender?

Postby ctxmike » Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:44 pm

Hi. Right now I'm a student at Emory college, which from the latest data, seems to accept one-third of the applicants from its undergraduate with a median GPA of 3.5-. I have a 3.73 and am also a Mexican-American URM. Provided I keep my grades up and score well enough on the LSAT, I think I have a good shot at getting in. As someone who's not so interested in money, but helping those underrepresented in the legal system, I was wondering how difficult it would be to secure a job in public defense from Emory?
Last edited by ctxmike on Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JamMasterJ

Re: How hard is it to become a public defender?

Postby JamMasterJ » Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:57 pm

Do you have a law degree? Check. Are you a member of a Bar Association? Check. Congratulations, you can get a job as a PD.
I interned for a circuit court judge and most of the PD's that appeared there were pretty aweful

soj

Postby soj » Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:00 pm

If you get 160+ on the LSAT, you should aim higher than Emory for LS. Not that you need to to become a PD, according to JamMasterJ. (I don't know if he's right or wrong, but he's probably right.)

ctxmike

Postby ctxmike » Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:03 pm

JamMasterJ wrote:Do you have a law degree? Check. Are you a member of a Bar Association? Check. Congratulations, you can get a job as a PD.
I interned for a circuit court judge and most of the PD's that appeared there were pretty aweful