MA and 5 Years Work Experience

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
arcticjoe

MA and 5 Years Work Experience

Postby arcticjoe » Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:41 am

Alright, this is what I have been trying to figure out for the last few weeks.

So, I have an undergraduate History degree with a GPA of 3.5 from University of Colorado.

I have five years work experience as a History Teacher, in a tremendously diverse school in Urban Chicago.

Further I have an MA-History from DePaul with a 3.4 GPA.

An LSAT of 160.

My real question is, does the MA mean anything, does my work experience mean anything? Or are we solely talking numbers here?

When I plug my numbers into the predictor--it is essentially deny, deny, deny, deny...etc

So, what should I think?

Any insight would be helpful.

Patriot1208

Re: MA and 5 Years Work Experience

Postby Patriot1208 » Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:43 am

your MA and work experience are fairly meaningless. You need an LSAT retake.

arcticjoe

Postby arcticjoe » Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:46 am

That is too bad as I am an awful standardized test taker.

Verity

Postby Verity » Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:56 am

1-3 points higher on the LSAT > PhD, according to most adcomms.

TTH

Postby TTH » Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:47 am

Your MA and a dollar will get you a cup of coffee (at a gas sation at least). Best advice is to retake.

dpk711

Postby dpk711 » Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:50 am

Your grad school degree and work experience are tiebreakers at best. Right now you're looking at T50 territory.

jdMission

Postby jdMission » Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:03 am