What are my chances? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
nsv

New

What are my chances?

Post by nsv » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:28 am

I have a bachelors in Computer Science from UCLA. My cumulative GPA was 3.783, and my upper division GPA was 3.892. How do law schools look at majors that are not related to law? For the past few months I have been studying very hard for the LSAT, most of the practice tests that I took were in the ~170 area. The only law related class that I took was introduction to constitution law during my last year at UCLA. Please advice as to how I can make my application shine. I am willing to take extra law related courses if that would boost my chances.

Thank you.

TheFactor

Silver

Re: What are my chances?

Post by TheFactor » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:35 am

Only thing that matters is GPA and LSAT. Law schools don't give a shit about whether or not you take law-related courses in UG.

bhan87

Silver

Post by bhan87 » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:42 am

nsv wrote:I have a bachelors in Computer Science(Very useful if you want to go into IP law) from UCLA. My cumulative GPA was 3.783(pretty good, get a 170+ and you'll be looking at T-14), and my upper division GPA was 3.892(irrelevant). How do law schools look at majors that are not related to law? For the past few months I have been studying very hard for the LSAT, most of the practice tests that I took were in the ~170 area. The only law related class that I took was introduction to constitution law during my last year at UCLA.(irrelevant) Please advice as to how I can make my application shine. I am willing to take extra law related courses if that would boost my chances.(don't do it)

Thank you.
Your GPA is good and your major is one of the more useful ones when seeking employment. Want to make your app shine? Score a 170+ on a real LSAT and you'll be looking at multiple T14 acceptances.

nsv

New

Post by nsv » Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:02 am

bhan87 wrote: