GPA Addendum: Help and Insight Please!

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
champ207

GPA Addendum: Help and Insight Please!

Postby champ207 » Fri May 27, 2011 3:01 pm

Hey All:

I need help in figuring out whether or not I should write an addendum in regards to GPA as my situation is rather unique.

First, I am going into my senior year of undergrad and I am taking the June LSAT. I transferred to my current school after my freshman year, where I studied at a university in Montreal, PQ. I was miserable there and didn't do well.

Here are my stats:

Freshman year: 2.51 (2.02 and a 3.0)

Sophomore year: 3.53 (3.06 and a 4.0)

Junior year: 3.93 (3.87 and a 4.0)

As you can see there are profound differences. However, what is kind of pushing me to write an addendum is that my first 3 semesters were 3.0, 2.02, and a 3.06. However, my last 3 were 4.0, 3.87, and a 4.0. I feel as though I need to explain this.

My Montreal GPA is best explained by the fact that my depression was out of control due to being miserable there and due to the fact that I developed insomnia. I really don't know if I want to mention this to Adcoms however, as it could hurt me. Also, to be frank I was lazy, and rededicated myself and it shows because my last 3 semesters I have a GPA of 3.95, and for the most part they are law and upper level classes.

Any thoughts? Thanks guys!

JD2014

Re: GPA Addendum: Help and Insight Please!

Postby JD2014 » Fri May 27, 2011 3:11 pm

Upward trends and addendums can only accomplish so much. It's the numbers that get reported to US News that matter.

You could write a short 2 or 3 sentence addendum indicating that your GPA was dragged down by time unhappily spent at a different college, but they're not going to treat you like you have a 3.95 GPA. At best it will make you preferable over a candidate with the same or similar GPA.

Sample GPA addendum: