A few questions

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jippy5

A few questions

Postby jippy5 » Tue May 24, 2011 3:47 pm

I apologize if I initially come off as rather ignorant, but I am very new to the process and right now I am just looking for advice on a few things.

I am currently a 21 year old who just finished up my junior year of undergrad. I am majoring in Business Economics and double minoring in Business Communications and Sports Management at a state school. I am an All-Region performer in an NCAA sport and have been chair representative for the Student-Athlete Advisory Counsel for two years at my school.

Currently, my cum. GPA is a 3.11, but according to the LSDAS GPA calculator I found on the Internet, I would fall in the range of only having a 2.83. I have some reasoning behind this (called "softs" as I've learned), as there was a fairly serious medical incident that occurred to me during the spring of 2010 semester that might have contributed to a drop in grades. While I am not extremely proud of my current academic standing, I am not totally ashamed and will obviously work with what I have.

I have always had an interest in attending law school, and right now I am in the process of researching some schools. Ideally I'd like to be able to study in the NYC area (I am from suburban NYC so could potentially commute, but at least know the area) but would be willing to attend anywhere if it means a good education. The economy has hit my family hard as my father has been in and out of unemployment and working odd jobs to make ends meet. Thankfully I go to a state school so the loan repayments I will be required to make for undergrad won't be too overwhelming, but I am hoping that the LSAC will grant me a fee waiver on the LSAT (I've heard that if I get a test waiver, most schools will wave admissions fees as well).