No Academic LOR

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
BeirutExpat

No Academic LOR

Postby BeirutExpat » Fri May 20, 2011 10:38 am

Hello

I plan on applying to law school in the spring of 2012, at which point I would have been out of undergrad for 5 years. Since then I have worked abroad in the Middle East, and only would probably only be able to get LORs from my bosses (at an NGO and another job).

I would like to know if anyone has been in a similar position to me and still gotten into a T-14 school. I am interested in UVA and Georgetown. I searched the topic on the forum, but the archives do not provide that many clear-cut opinions.

For other info, I graduated from GW with a 3.96 GPA and my LSAT practices have all been 170+.

I have been thinking of asking for an LOR from a professor at GW I had many years ago for a senior thesis class, but I am unsure if he will remember me. It would not hurt to e-mail him I guess with a copy of my paper, but I worry I would get a worse recommendation than my more recent references.

BeirutExpat

Re: No Academic LOR

Postby BeirutExpat » Fri May 20, 2011 10:49 am

Note: I mean reapply next year, not in Spring.

aliarrow

Postby aliarrow » Fri May 20, 2011 10:59 am

Definitely try emailing your old professors. Just explain your situation and the importance of Academic LORs, and that you'd be willing to sit with them (if possible) and go over your credentials. Mention your thesis, grade in class(es), that you enjoyed working with/learning from them, etc.

fundamentallybroken

Postby fundamentallybroken » Fri May 20, 2011 11:08 am

I'm not T14, but was in a similar situation to you - out of UG for many years, and didn't have any contact with any of my old profs.

I got one from a governor appointed state official (the head of my organization), one from her deputy (my boss), and one from an AAG who I had closely worked a few cases with. Did not have an issue at all.

Capitol A