3.2 GPA in "hard" science 163 LSAT

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Genthree

3.2 GPA in "hard" science 163 LSAT

Postby Genthree » Tue May 17, 2011 8:45 pm

I have a 3.2 GPA graduating from a nationally ranked school in my particular chemistry-related field. How much will my GPA hurt me considering the fact that my degree is in a highly-technical field?

Also, any suggestions for what range of law school I'm looking at would be appreciated. I'm planning on retaking the LSAT in June. Hoping for upper 160s.

Thanks in advance.

PinkCow

Re: 3.2 GPA in "hard" science 163 LSAT

Postby PinkCow » Tue May 17, 2011 8:50 pm

Like many on here will tell you, major concentration is minimally important. It may serve as a tie-breaker all things being equal, but LSAT/GPA are what's important at pretty much every school (save, maybe Yale, Boalt, and others, but you're not in that range). You might have a shot at some of the lower 50, but really you're looking at Tier 2 (50-100) schools with that combo. Bump up the LSAT to around 167 or so and your looking more in the 20s (maybe WUSTL would be a reach/target).

Lawquacious

Postby Lawquacious » Tue May 17, 2011 8:53 pm

PinkCow beat me too it.... GPAs are weighted equally for LSAC purposes. As he mentioned, between you and someone with similar numbers it could help, but I think that's about it. Possibly it could give you a very slight general boost (hard major at strong undergrad), but I would guess it would be no more than about .1 GPA point.

Genthree

Postby Genthree » Tue May 17, 2011 8:59 pm

I ask because I keep encountering quotes like this one:

"If someone has a 3.2 in Electrical Engineering from a good school,” Pless states, “I still consider that a good GPA.”

But you say it's really only a tie-breaker at best?

hurldes

Postby hurldes » Tue May 17, 2011 9:22 pm