Better undergrad for LS?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
KingJustinian

Better undergrad for LS?

Postby KingJustinian » Sat May 14, 2011 3:47 pm

Apologies if this isn't the right forum for this question.

I'm currently a sophomore at a public university in NYC. I've done well here, and I've been accepted as a junior transfer to Cornell University's School of Industrial and Labor Relations and Georgetown University's College of Arts and Sciences.

I'm planning to attend law school, ideally Columbia. My main interest is international law. I see myself working for the ILO someday.

At Cornell ILR, everyone majors in Industrial and Labor Relations, but there are concentrations within the major. I'd concentrate in International and Comparative Labor. Looking through the syllabus there are many classes that really interest me. You can minor across colleges, so I'd also minor in regular International Relations.

At Georgetown, I'd be a Government major. Georgetown's big plus for me is its location. Literally any IR-related internship you could think of, right there in DC. It's also obviously got a stellar reputation in the field of IR, second only to Harvard and Columbia I'd say.

Which do you all think would be the better choice (for now, assuming I'd do well at either) to maximize my chances at Columbia Law?

stylishlaw

Re: Better undergrad for LS?

Postby stylishlaw » Sat May 14, 2011 3:49 pm

Go to the school with the easiest major that will let you get a 4.0 with the least amount of work.

Knock

Postby Knock » Sat May 14, 2011 3:50 pm

KingJustinian wrote:Apologies if this isn't the right forum for this question.

I'm currently a sophomore at a public university in NYC. I've done well here, and I've been accepted as a junior transfer to Cornell University's School of Industrial and Labor Relations and Georgetown University's College of Arts and Sciences.