Life Decision....Too confused like a typical girl Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
josephine1

New

Life Decision....Too confused like a typical girl

Post by josephine1 » Fri May 13, 2011 8:33 am

Hi everyone,

Howdy? Hope things are good for everyone.

I am a newbie at TLS. I was engineering major in college n thinking abt law school. I've mediocre GPA (3.55) elec eng and great LSAT (1st:absent 2nd:180). I am international student and i have heard that being international makes things a bit tricky.

I wish I could get into YHS, but it seems like the chances r super slim, am I correct?

I am very ambitious and would love to shoot for a biglaw. I took a law course in ugrad and liked it a lot and was part of mock trial. Sadly, I didn't hold any leadership position in college and mostly I was too confused about what to do with my life. I thought I would like Nuclear engineering,but later I ended up not liking it. My softs are average as I was one of those girls who partied very seldom and worked to support herself.

Also, job market is getting better gradually. But, I heard law firms r not to keen 2 hire internationals, unless they r very top of their class. I am gonna work very hard and stuff, but is it like be a topper or else go back to home country :(

I have a bf who is American and neither he nor I are rich. I love him, don't know if I would marry him and people say, marrying and getting green card makes employment easier..It is a cute idea, but I don't think I am that desperate to do it as my bf is not that mature and it may take years until I wanna get married. Oh yeah, i can get loans if i want to as some relative said, she will cosign and stuff.

wondering:
-what are my chances for T-10 for scholarship and admission (i love Harvard, who doesn't :p)
-what are employment prospects for internationals at T-10 who are on F-1 only (don't wanna get married for Green card, .