Pre-Law Advisors...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
memphisbelle

Pre-Law Advisors...

Postby memphisbelle » Tue May 10, 2011 5:50 pm

Hi,

Has anyone worked with the pre-law advisors suggested by LSAC? I just had a particularly interesting exchange with mine...

I am completing a degree program online. I have previous brick and mortar schooling but chose this method because my major is not offered anywhere in my area and it closely relates to my current work experience. It is also convenient because I must work full time to support myself.

Here is what I asked:

1. Since I am in the global (online) program, I have very limited potential to receive strong academic letters of recommendation since I have never met any of my professors. I can obtain work related LOR's, but I'm not sure if the lack of academic references will hurt my chances at non work experience oriented schools.

(note: I submitted that idea in hopes that we could build an advisement relationship throughout my next year in UG so that she could become familiar with my work and write a letter. I guess I should have stated that more plainly, although given the response, I don't think I want one.)

Here is the response (yes, written in all caps):

YES, THEY WILL, AS WILL AN AVIATION DEGREE THAT IS NOT BOLSTERED UP BY COURSE WORK THAT IS DEMANDING IN THE READING AND WRITING AREAS. SO, RATHER THAN GRADUATING B/C YOU CAN, I WOULD ENCOURAGE YOU TO STAY ENROLLED LONGER TO TAKE COURSES THAT BUILD SKILLS NOT DEMANDED AS MUCH IN AN AVIATION PROGRAM.

Wait, so now not only do I not get LOR's, but I can't read or write either....because I am an aviation major? It is a full four year degree program...

Next question: