High paying job vs law school

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
swellsrise

High paying job vs law school

Postby swellsrise » Sat May 07, 2011 11:26 pm

Okay, maybe it's not extremely high paying, but my fiance is making about 60 a year, and I'm making about 52. I am having trouble deciding whether or not I should go to law school this fall (Stetson, no $) or just retake the LSAT and go next year. If I go to Stetson, both my fiance and I will lose our income and will have to borrow $ until we do find a job. It's a hard decision because we would be going from 100 + a year to a fraction of that- assuming we could find work.

Don't get me wrong, I have wanted to go to law school ever since I graduated in 2009, but I don't know if it would be the best financial decision (even in the long run) for me or my fiance. I feel like no matter what decision I make, I'll be disappointing either my fiance (loss of income, quality of life) or myself (putting off law school yet again). Anyways, if you could please tell me what you would do and why, I would greatly appreciate it.

rose711

Re: High paying job vs law school

Postby rose711 » Sat May 07, 2011 11:30 pm

What are you stats? Based on what you posted, it makes no sense for you to go to Stetson. It won't hurt you to wait for another year if you can improve you application with a higher score.

swellsrise

Postby swellsrise » Sat May 07, 2011 11:31 pm

rose711 wrote:What are you stats? Based on what you posted, it makes no sense for you to go to Stetson. It won't hurt you to wait for another year if you can improve you application with a higher score.

155, 3.44 GPA.

anti-phronimos

Postby anti-phronimos » Sat May 07, 2011 11:35 pm

Combined income over 100k v. 200k of debt and, if you're lucky, maybe a combined income of 100k.

go with whatever sounds better to you.

jkay

Postby jkay » Sat May 07, 2011 11:35 pm

study your ass off. retake in october. apply early. then reassess.

ResolutePear