what are strong softs/decent softs/weak softs? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tdicks

Bronze

what are strong softs/decent softs/weak softs?

Post by tdicks » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:36 pm

i'm new to all this application stuff and am trying to get a handle on where i stand. i see terms like "strong softs" and "weak softs" thrown around a lot, and am just wondering what kinds of things fall into these categories? so far it seems like strong softs are basically curing cancer or winning the nobel prize. i guess i get that, as you're trying to make yourself stand out among a really strong applicant pool, but then what are decent softs? if i have the numbers to get into a school, but crap softs, how much will that hurt my chances? for that matter, what exactly is a soft? just things on your application/resume that aren't your gpa or lsat score?

sorry if this is a duplicate, i tried to search but with all the posts talking about softs i just gave up.

glitter178

Silver

Re: what are strong softs/decent softs/weak softs?

Post by glitter178 » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:38 pm

tdicks wrote:i'm new to all this application stuff and am trying to get a handle on where i stand. i see terms like "strong softs" and "weak softs" thrown around a lot, and am just wondering what kinds of things fall into these categories? so far it seems like strong softs are basically curing cancer or winning the nobel prize. i guess i get that, as you're trying to make yourself stand out among a really strong applicant pool, but then what are decent softs? if i have the numbers to get into a school, but crap softs, how much will that hurt my chances? for that matter, what exactly is a soft? just things on your application/resume that aren't your gpa or lsat score?

sorry if this is a duplicate, i tried to search but with all the posts talking about softs i just gave up.