Things to do in your year off

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Loyola Trojan

Things to do in your year off

Postby Loyola Trojan » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:46 am

Never went abroad in college, you guys know of any good programs for grads?
ANy other things doing during a year off that might help my application?
:D

Grizz

Re: Things to do in your year off

Postby Grizz » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:47 am

j/o every day

swilson215

Postby swilson215 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:42 am

Loyola Trojan wrote:Never went abroad in college, you guys know of any good programs for grads?

Get some work experience, and make sure that this is what you really want to do. I started working in a midlaw firm in my hometown, and then took a month off in May (1 year after I graduated) to go to Europe. I set up my own trip and managed all of the details myself (rather than going with a tour group) and had the time of my life (for less $$ than an organized trip).

enjoy your time off!

mettasutta

Postby mettasutta » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:49 am

AmeriCorps--you help underserved communities and get a small education award (5K--enough to cover books and supplies for LS) at the end of your term. The toughest but most meaningful WE I've ever had.
-Teaching abroad--watch out, because some of these programs are scams!

TTH

Postby TTH » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:52 am

rad law wrote:j/o every day

TITCR.

There's nothing you're going to do for one year that will really help your application. If you want to take more time off, you can do Peace Corps/AmeriCorps/TFA, but those are of only marginal benefit (of the three, Peace Corps probably gives you the best boost and is the coolest).

Go try to teach English abroad. I know both the French and Spanish Embassies have programs that hire American English speakers to teach in their countries. They typically want you to have decently strong French/Spanish tho

txadv11

Postby txadv11 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:57 am

Make money. Think about this like this: