29 yr old LS graduate...too old?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kTXe

29 yr old LS graduate...too old?

Postby kTXe » Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:37 am

From this NYT article http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/09/business/09law.html?pagewanted=6&_r=2 :

“Most of us either went to the wrong law school, which is the bottom two-thirds, or we were too old when we graduated,” he said. “I was 32 when I graduated, and at 32 you’re washed up in this field, in terms of a shot at the real deal. They perceived me as somebody they can’t indoctrinate into slave labor and work to death for seven years and then release if they don’t like you.”

Does age really matter this much to LS grads? I will be 29 when I graduate, do I have any reason to worry?

flpackerfan

Re: 29 yr old LS graduate...too old?

Postby flpackerfan » Sun Apr 24, 2011 4:51 am

No. There are plenty of people starting law school in their mid to late 20s.

The point of that article was taking on debt for law school might not be a great investment anymore.

The quote you are referring to is just some random bitter guy's reasoning for why he didn't get a job.
Last edited by flpackerfan on Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

worldtraveler

Postby worldtraveler » Sun Apr 24, 2011 5:49 am

The median age for starting law school is 25, which would make it 28 at graduation. In my opinion, those with some work/life experience tend to have an easier time finding jobs anyway. Age has nothing to do with why that guy can't get a job.

Leira7905

Postby Leira7905 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:24 am